It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:45 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:15 pm
Posts: 6
I can not connect through my proxy server because i dont find a way to config the address, port, username and pass in Coollector 4 settings. What can i do?

I need to download the actors pics, but nothings happens. No error, no download, no message. I look for the pictures of the actors and do not find packages or images in web site :( .

i cant Earn a License :worried:

Need help, information or links... anything. I want to help to.

ps: i´m using win8

_________________
I´m the proxy guy!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2014 12:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5861
I know what proxies are, but I've never used one. Please explain to me how what happens with the other programs. Do they have settings for the proxy name, and port, and password? or do they work without doing anything? Is Coollector the only program that you have problems with, or is it a common issue?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2014 12:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5861
A long time ago, I've had a user who had problems because he was using a proxy, and I've modified Coollector to make it work.

I've just had a look at my code, and the program indeed looks at the Windows registry key

"Computer\HK_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings"

If the value "ProxyEnable" is TRUE, then Coollector will use the value of "ProxyServer" for the name of the proxy.

Until, now, no other user has ever complained. But now, I'm confused by those port and password settings you mention...

:sorry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:15 pm
Posts: 6
for example:

to access internet, my company use a proxy that allows every user, connect to internet using a user and pass. I use to download Internet Download Manager (IDM) and i need to set the proxy address and port that my company uses and also put my username and password.

In most programs you can choose this connexion settings eg mozilla, ie, kaspersky, and so. In Coollector i cant set this.

Here I'll show you an example of what I'm talking

A picture says a thousand words :D

Sorry if I confused you.

ps: i check the registry key that you mention and its ok.


Attachments:
Proxy settings in IDM.jpg
Proxy settings in IDM.jpg [ 83.66 KiB | Viewed 3758 times ]

_________________
I´m the proxy guy!
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2014 9:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5861
I've made some research, and here are a couple of ideas...

1) Coollector reads the Windows registry, and from what I've read, the proxy settings in the registry are in fact the settings of Internet Explorer. Could you please configure Internet Explorer for your proxy, and see if that helps with Coollector.

2) there's a free program called widecap, which can force individual applications to use proxies, even if the applications themselves don't support proxies. Could you please have a look at it:

http://widecap.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 2:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:15 pm
Posts: 6
when a programs reads the Windows registry and the proxy settings of internet explorer is configured, automatically a window appears asking user and password, such as KMPlayer. That's what should happen with Coollector and does not.

The widicap you say does not work for me. I´m using win8 x64 and i cant add programs to proxify through widecap.

I realy check that 2 options and did not work for me. I think that my problems its bigger!! lol

You think that we could set up a proxy server from Coollector it self in the near future? I like Coollector and want to help to.

sorry to be a problem... :(

_________________
I´m the proxy guy!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 3:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5861
Lorencito wrote:
when a programs reads the Windows registry and the proxy settings of internet explorer is configured, automatically a window appears asking user and password, such as KMPlayer.

Ok, I'll try to do that this week-end. I'll need you for testing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:15 pm
Posts: 6
ok, count me in

:D

_________________
I´m the proxy guy!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5861
Thank you :V:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 11:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5861
Please download this special version:

http://www.coollector.com/Coollector_Proxy.exe

At startup, it'll ask you the proxy username and password. Please tell me if it works.

If everything's fine, then I'll make the other refinements (storing the settings in an encrypted form, etc...).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 2:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 10:15 pm
Posts: 6
It really ask me for user and pass but this solution did not work for me. :nono:

The images still loading and nothings else happens. Maybe if I could config the proxy server and port in Coollector itself it will work. :sorry:

_________________
I´m the proxy guy!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5861
Lorencito wrote:
Maybe if I could config the proxy server and port

What's the right port number? With the next version, I'll make the program display the proxy name to make sure it's correct.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How can i connect Coollector through a proxy server?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5861
I've made some research, and I think I've understood what went wrong.

Apparently, the registry contains values in this form:

"ProxyServer"="http://ProxyServername:80"

I didn't know that the port number was appended to the server name, and therefore my code was completely messed.

I've made a new version, please tell me if it works:

http://www.coollector.com/Coollector_Proxy2.exe


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group