It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:36 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 10
Hi, Coollector is not able to read video files I have stored on an external Seagate 3TB HDD. It can read video files stored on another external Seagate 2TB HDD. Both are formatted Mac OS Extended. Is there a HDD size limitation with this program? Thankyou


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5862
I really doubt that the size is the problem.

In the past, I've had 2 users who couldn't scan their drive when it was connected with the AFP protocol, but could scan it if they connected with the SAMBA protocol.

Is your drive using AFP? Can you try with SAMBA? (you just have to replace "afp" by "smb")


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 10
Thankyou for the reply, I do not know how to change the protocol, are you able to assist with instructions. I notice the HDD that Coollector will not read from is formatted ( Case sensitive, Journaled ) Could this be a problem?


Attachments:
Disc Utility.png
Disc Utility.png [ 26.56 KiB | Viewed 2859 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5862
Please press "Command + K" to make appear the dialog. You have to enter the address "smb://DriveName", where DriveName is the name of your drive. For that, we have to find the name of your drive. Can you find your drive when you click the button "Browse"? If not, does Finder show your drive as "shared"? If not, can you find your drive by using the Finder's menu "Go->Network"?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5862
stopcat wrote:
Hi, Coollector is not able to read video files I have stored on an external Seagate 3TB HDD.

What happens exactly. Do you get some error message?

Are you using the automatic file scanning feature, or are you clicking the "play" icon to associate the file manually?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 10
Hi, I am accessing the drives by usb. Not samba or afp.
No error messages but no files are available to Coollector, they are greyed. I can see the files with Coollector but Coollector cannot open them. The other drives which are readable by Coollector are enclosed in a multi drive enclosure connected to my iMac via USB, the 3 TB HDD is also connected via USB directly to my iMac, The enclosure will not accept a 3TB HDD, 2Tb is the maximum for this enclosure. The 3TB HDD is fully functional. It seems to be a software issue with Coollector? As I wrote before the HDD is formatted Case-sensitive, Journaled. My other hDD's are formatted Journaled.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5862
stopcat wrote:
Hi, I am accessing the drives by usb. Not samba or afp.

USB is just the cable. Samba and AFP are the file transfer protocols. Please try to connect with the Samba protocol (and your USB cable) as I asked you to do.


stopcat wrote:
No error messages but no files are available to Coollector, they are greyed. I can see the files with Coollector but Coollector cannot open them.

I'd really appreciate a screenshot. Also please tell me what you used, the file scanning menu or the "play" icon.


stopcat wrote:
It seems to be a software issue with Coollector?

If there's a bug that I can fix or get around, I'll be happy to do it. But understanding what causes the issue is very hard because everything works fine in most cases. In all those years, you're only the third reported case...

We have no choice, we have to make some tests to find some clue. I much appreciate your collaboration and thank you for your patience.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 10
I tried connecting with samba but no success. I am using the Manage Your Video Files> Automatic File Scanning.


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2013-11-05 at 9.37.39 pm.png
Screen Shot 2013-11-05 at 9.37.39 pm.png [ 26.18 KiB | Viewed 2854 times ]
Screen Shot 2013-11-05 at 9.39.06 pm.png
Screen Shot 2013-11-05 at 9.39.06 pm.png [ 484.35 KiB | Viewed 2854 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5862
It's normal that the files are greyed. You have to select a folder. You are not allowed to select a file. It should be the same even with your drive that works. ;)

I admit that it's a bit confusing on Mac. At least on Windows, only the folders are displayed :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5862
From your screenshot, I can see that the drive is named "Expansion Drive", but the error message says only "Expansion". I suspect that the space in the name is causing the problem.

Please give your drive a name without space, to see if it works better.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5862
I made the test on my computer. I gave my drive a name with a space in it, but everything kept working fine.

Did you get more luck on your side?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 1:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5862
(cool) Hector wrote:
I can see that the drive is named "Expansion Drive"

Is it you who gave that name to the drive? Can you give it another name?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:29 am
Posts: 706
Location: Jamaica
I can confirm it's not the size of the drive. I have the Seagate 4TB running coollector...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 10
Hi, I have tried renaming the HDD. I called it 3TB with no success, I changed it again to New 3TB and I got an error message. I then quit and reopened Coollector and scanned New 3TB again, this time no error message but back to the original problem, Coollector will not read the files on that HDD.


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2013-11-06 at 8.47.09 am.png
Screen Shot 2013-11-06 at 8.47.09 am.png [ 120.65 KiB | Viewed 2844 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to read 3TB HDD
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 5862
I like this error message much better. Maybe I have a chance to do something.

I've started making some tests, but now I have to go to bed. I'll get back to it tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2017 phpBB Group