It is currently Fri Aug 12, 2022 2:45 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2022 8:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 9:31 am
Posts: 10
Hi Hector,

I recently got a new desktop and unfortunately have been having a lot of issues with Coollector.
It does not seem to matter what I was doing (scanning folder to add new movie, filtering, adjusting style, or even simply scrolling through my movies, etc), I constantly getting the same debugging errors (see attached screenshot for error message). After the program shut down, it automatically opened up a folder with couple files inside (coollector.dmp and coollector.xml). Both are also attached.

By the way, this happened on my old PC also but it was a few and far between.
I hope there is a solution to this because I love Coollector and would want to continue using it.

Thanks!!

Kai


Attachments:
Coollector.xml [7.41 KiB]
Downloaded 70 times
Coollector.dmp [222.15 KiB]
Downloaded 71 times
coollector error.png
coollector error.png [ 52.97 KiB | Viewed 1635 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2022 9:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 7118
Thank you for reporting your problems!

Are you using a skin or are you using the default one?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2022 9:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 7118
The text on your screenshot is very big. What's the resolution of your screen? Is it High DPI or are you visually disabled?

I ask all this because the program doesn't crash for me and I try to understand why it crashes for you...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2022 10:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 9:31 am
Posts: 10
Default skin.
This is a HTPC so I am using TV as the display.
Resolution is 3840x2160 (Recommended) and scale is 300% (Recommended).
I changed scale to 100% and immediately got the debug error so you may be onto something.
The fonts look tiny though when I do that so I would need to stick to 300%.

Please let me know if you need more info.

Thanks,
Kai


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2022 11:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 7118
Are you in single-pane mode or in dual-pane mode?

It's just a hunch but my guess is that you're in single-pane mode and it'll stop crashing if you go into dual-pane mode. Right or wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2022 11:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 7118
kaihao wrote:
After the program shut down, it automatically opened up a folder with couple files inside (coollector.dmp and coollector.xml).

It's great that the crash creates a crash dump, but unfortunately the crash dump created by the release version of the app doesn't contain enough information.

Here's a link to the debug version:

https://www.coollector.com/Coollector.DEBUG.exe

If you run it and succeed to make it crash, then give me the 2 files of the crash dump and I should be able to analyze the crash.

Thank you very much for helping me fix this bug!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2022 4:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 9:31 am
Posts: 10
You're right about the single-pane.
It has not crashed since I switched to dual-pane.
I still prefer single-pane though if it is fixable.

Attached are the 2 files that I got from the debug.exe file.


Attachments:
Coollector.xml [10.63 KiB]
Downloaded 72 times
Coollector.dmp [187.22 KiB]
Downloaded 68 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2022 8:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 7118
You're a champ! The dump looks great, I look into it later today.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2022 1:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 7118
kaihao wrote:
This is a HTPC

Is it an old PC? How much RAM does it have? Are you sure it's not a little under-specced to handle such big graphics?

I ask because it's weird where the app crashes... The app creates a 2985x1648 bitmap where it'll draw the grid's content but the bitmap ends up being invalid...

If your PC has only 4GB of RAM, it's not enough to run Windows nowadays. My mom's computer had only 4GB of RAM, worked fine for a long time, but a few years ago the web browser started crashing constantly. Upgraded to 8GB of RAM and the problem was solved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2022 2:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 7118
kaihao wrote:
It has not crashed since I switched to dual-pane.
I still prefer single-pane though if it is fixable.
Looks like it works in dual-pane mode because the graphics are twice smaller.

Do you confirm that you only have 4GB of RAM? If that's indeed the case, it could be wise to upgrade your RAM ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2022 4:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 9:31 am
Posts: 10
Nope, it's a brand new PC and has a 12MB RAM.
It only has onboard graphic card though if that matters.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2022 4:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 7118
Ok, I will look further...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2022 4:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 9:31 am
Posts: 10
Ok thanks and good luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2022 3:03 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 7118
I'm afraid I'm running out of ideas, the only thing that I can think of is a RAM issue.


kaihao wrote:
it's a brand new PC and has a 12MB RAM.

Do you confirm that the 12MB are well detected by the system?

https://www.tenforums.com/attachments/tutorials/105828d1476388173-determine-system-memory-size-speed-type-windows-10-a-memory_size_settings.png

Did your brand new PC come with 12MB installed? or was it just 4MB and you added 8MB yourself?

Sometimes a RAM module doesn't work well with another RAM module, I've already had the case and the result was that one of the modules died shortly after.

Is it possible to make a test with only the 8MB module?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Constant debugging error
PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2022 6:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2020 9:31 am
Posts: 10
It came with 12MB installed and I have confirmed all 12MB are recognized by the system.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2021 phpBB Group