It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:59 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: What is this!!!
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 12:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:29 am
Posts: 13
I updated coollector yesterday, and this message keeps coming up, and closing down coollector and I cannot do anything.

Message: Coollector.exe has encountereda problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvience.

Is this a error at your end or my end.

Please help.

thank you
Donna


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 1:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 6178
Hi Donna !

Please try the following, and tell me if it worked:

1) go to the folder "My Documents\Coollector\"

2) delete the folder named "Tmp"

3) launch Coollector


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: error
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 8:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:29 am
Posts: 13
Good Afternoon Hector,

I did as you asked , I deleted the TMP folder and the problem is still occuring.

Please advise

Thanks
Donna


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: error
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 9:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 6178
darknight61au wrote:
I did as you asked , I deleted the TMP folder and the problem is still occuring.

Too bad, I hoped it would have worked :worried:

Well, it seems that your coollection has been corrupted somehow, and you'll have to restore your last automatic backup:

1) go again to the folder "My Documents\Coollector".

2) this time, go into the folder "Backups", where are all your automatic backups.

3) double click the latest backup (the one with the biggest number, for instance "MyCoollection17.cool").

If even the backup doesn't work please reinstall Coollector (no need to uninstall before).

But if this backup works fine you'll have to replace your default coollection file with this backup:

4) rename the default (corrupted) coollection file "My Documents\Coollector\MyCoollection.cool" into "My Documents\Coollector\MyCoollection.corrupted.cool".

5) copy the latest backup into "My Documents\Coollector". Now you have "My Documents\Coollector\MyCoollection17.cool".

6) rename to remove the number "17", and make it "My Documents\Coollector\MyCoollection.cool", that is the default coollection which will be used when the program is launched.

7) please mail me "MyCoollection.corrupted.cool" so I can have a look at it. My email address: hector at coollector dot com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Renamed the corrupt file
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 11:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:29 am
Posts: 13
Hello,

Followed all instructions and the new coollector.cool is working, I have emailed u the corrupted one as per your request.

Thanks heaps
Donna


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 11:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 6178
Glad to hear you're back on tracks :D

Sorry for the trouble. I have received your file and will examine it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: oh no!!
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:29 am
Posts: 13
Hector,

Coollector is working, but I have lost all my dvd's there was over 700.

Can I get them back so how!!

Appreciate you help

Donna


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 11:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 6178
What !? Your backup was supposed to have all your data...

When you have double clicked your latest backup, your personal data wasn't there ?

If so, try with the backup before it, until you find the latest valid backup, and replace the default coollection file with this backup.

Please keep me informed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 12:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 6178
Donna, do not worry !

I've had a look at your file. Indeed it is corrupted. I still haven't understood everything, but it's a very small corruption, and I'll be able to fix it. There seems to be a bug in Coollector that can corrupt the coollection file, and I'd like to understand and fix this bug.

As I said, I'll be able to give you back all your data !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 12:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 6178
Donna, it was easy to fix your coollection file, and I have mailed it to you.

Maybe you could help me understand what has happened...
Do you remember, when you have added the "Problem Child Tantrum Pack", if you have done something to the subtitles fields ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 1:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 6178
Alright, I've finally found out that creating your own packs has several bugs. Until now, I wasn't aware of it...

Donna, I see that you have tried creating your own packs, but it didn't work, and it even created a corruption.

I will release a new version of Coollector to fix all those problems as soon as possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: u r a legend
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 4:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:29 am
Posts: 13
Hector,

Thank you so much.

When I went to add problem child 3, there was only a pack, so I deleted 1 and 2 and left 3 as I had already added 1 and 2.

I hope this makes sense.

Thanks again
Donna


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: u r a legend
PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 8:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:28 am
Posts: 6178
darknight61au wrote:
u r a legend

Thank you so much.

I'm blushing... The safety of your data is our top priority !

darknight61au wrote:
When I went to add problem child 3, there was only a pack, so I deleted 1 and 2 and left 3 as I had already added 1 and 2.

I hope this makes sense.

Well, you can do whatever you find easier... You could have added your video from scratch, or do what you've done (don't forget to reset the pack field to make it a normal video and no more a pack). But I'm a little confused because we don't have any pack with 'Problem Child 3'...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2018 phpBB Group